Listen Live
HomeRegional NewsNewsUPDATED: Langman wins Warfield mayoral race

UPDATED: Langman wins Warfield mayoral race

Warfield has spoken.

In today’s by-election residents chose a new mayor and two new village councillors.

There were 548 votes counted.

In the mayoral race Diane Langman won with 282 votes, beating Brett Rakuson who had 264 votes.

Langman will be the first woman to serve as mayor since Warfield incorporated in 1952.

The two new councillors are Raymond Masleck, who had 387 votes, and Bradley Jansen, who had 376.

- Advertisement -

The other two candidates for council were Ronald Joseph, who had 144 votes, and Wesley Robillard, who had 71.

Langman thinks they have a good bunch on council.

The new members will be sworn in March 10 and Langman says they’ll get down to business immediately.

A water contract between Warfield and Teck runs out in 2025.


- Advertisment -
- Advertisment -
- Advertisement -

Continue Reading